Canet-en-Roussillon - Ma Prairie 4 stars

Canet-en-Roussillon

Ideally situated on the Mediterranean coast, Canet en Roussillon is the second largest town in the Pyrénées Orientales, 10 minutes from Perpignan (the first town in the Pyrénées Orientales), 45 minutes from Spain and just an hour from the first foothills of the Pyrenees. The richness of its historical heritage, its protected natural site and its tourist dynamism make Canet en Roussillon the perfect alliance between tradition and modernity.

Located at the entrance of the village, Ma Prairie, your campsite in Canet en Roussillon is the ideal starting point to discover the diversity of the Mediterranean coast, its historical heritage and the Catalan culture! Situated just a stone's throw from the Etang de Canet pond with its extraordinary biodiversity, the campsite is only 1 km from the Colline des Loisirs (Leisure Hill): home to top-level sports activities (Europa Olympic Swimming Pool) and many other leisure activities.

An authentic village

The Ma Prairie campsite is a 10 minute walk from the heart of the village of Canet en Roussillon. Stroll through the winding lanes of the old village to observe the remains of the fortifications and the Château Vicomtal, perched on a hillside from where the sea could be watched. Just like the Pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela who stopped here, you will not fail to pass by the14th century church of Saint-Jacques which proudly raises its bell tower in "Cairou", the local red brick.

The pond of Canet-en-Roussillon

The pond of Canet-Saint-Nazaire is home to an exceptional fauna and flora on nearly 600 hectares in the lagoon, you can observe nearly 230 species of birds, including migratory birds such as flamingoes and redhorses. The pond is their wintering place. With a bit of luck, you will be able to spot a kingfisher that stays here all year round. The pond is also part of the Natura 2000 network, a European label that aims to protect the biodiversity of natural sites.

Several paths allow you to discover this remarkable natural heritage on foot. Guided tours are also organized. Don't forget to bring binoculars to observe the animals from the observation post. The huts in the fishermen's village have been renovated. You can even visit a permanent exhibition in one of them. It recounts the history of the pond, its ecological role and the diversity of its fauna and flora.

Activities and leisure activities of Canet-en-Roussillon

With Ma prairie, your campsite in Canet-en-Roussillon, several activities and leisure activities are available to you:

Water activities

  • The Arlette Franco Swimming Centre - Europa Olympic Swimming Pool, hosts regional or national championships.
  • Nautical activities: Kitesurfing, Standing paddle, sailing, scuba diving or simply beach clubs...

Leisure activities

  • Discover the city by little train
  • Visit the aquarium
  • Stroll around the port and the 9 km of fine sandy beaches of Canet-Plage all with Blue Flagstatus.
  • Stroll in the arboretum with its 11 hectares of greenery
  • Try your hand at a water sport
  • Strolling in the Local Markets
  • Visit the vineyards and their estates in Roussillon where you can taste the local wines.
  • Relaxing with thalassotherapy or balneotherapy
  • Treat yourself at the Casino
  • Discover Catalan gastronomy thanks to the wide choice of cafés and restaurants available near the campsite.

Moving smart

During the season, the small train runs through the village, serving the seafront, the leisure hill and the main beaches of the resort.

fbpx

Canet-en-Roussillon

Idéalement située au bord de la Méditerranée, Canet en Roussillon est la seconde ville des Pyrénées Orientales, à 10 mn de Perpignan (première ville des Pyrénées Orientales), à 45 mn de l’Espagne et à une petite heure des premiers contreforts des Pyrénées. La richesse de son patrimoine historique, son site naturel protégé et son dynamisme touristique font de Canet en Roussillon la parfaite alliance entre tradition et modernité.

Situé à l’entrée du village, le Camping Ma Prairie est le point de départ idéal pour découvrir la diversité de la côte méditerranéenne, son patrimoine historique et la culture catalane ! Situé à deux pas de l’Etang de Canet à la biodiversité extraordinaire, le camping est seulement à 1 km de la Colline des Loisirs : siège des activités sportives (Piscine Olympique Europa) de haut niveau et de bien d’autres activités de loisirs.

Un village authentique

Le camping Ma Prairie est à 10 mn à pied du cœur du village. Promenez-vous dans les ruelles sinueuses du vieux village pour observer les vestiges des fortifications et le Château Vicomtal, juché sur un coteau d’où l’on pouvait surveiller la mer. Tout comme les Pèlerins en route vers St Jacques de Compostelle qui y faisaient étape, vous ne manquerez pas non plus de passer par l’église Saint-Jacques du XIVe siècle qui dresse fièrement son clocher en « Cairou », brique rouge locale.

L’étang de Canet-en-Roussillon

L’étang de Canet- Saint-Nazaire abrite une faune et une flore exceptionnelle sur près de 600 hectares Dans la lagune, vous pourrez observer près de 230 espèces d’oiseaux et notamment des oiseaux migrateurs comme le flamant rose ou le chevalier sylvain. L’étang est leur lieu d’hivernage. Avec un peu de chance, vous pourrez apercevoir un martin pêcheur qui reste toute l’année sur ce site. L’étang fait d’ailleurs partie du réseau Natura 2000, label européen qui vise à protéger la biodiversité des sites naturels.

Plusieurs sentiers permettent de découvrir à pied ce patrimoine naturel remarquable. Des visites guidées sont aussi organisées. N’oubliez pas d’apporter des jumelles pour observer les animaux depuis le poste d’observation. Les cabanes du village des pêcheurs ont été rénovées. On peut même visiter une exposition permanente dans l’une d’elle. Elle retrace l’histoire de l’étang, son rôle écologique et la diversité de sa faune et flore.

Activités et loisirs de Canet-en-Roussillon

Plusieurs activités et loisirs s’offrent à vous :

Activités nautiques

  • Le Centre de Natation Arlette Franco- Piscine Olympique Europa, accueille types de championnats régionaux ou nationaux.
  • Les activités nautiques : KiteSurf, Standing paddle, voile, plongée sous marine ou simplement les clubs de plage…

Les loisirs

  • Découvrir la ville en petit train.
  • Visiter l’aquarium.
  • Se promener sur le port et les 9 km de plage de sable fin de Canet-Plage toutes labellisées Pavillon Bleu.
  • Se balader à l’arboretum avec ses 11 hectares de verdure.
  • S’essayer à un sport nautique.
  • Flâner dans les Marchés locaux
  • Visiter les vignobles et leurs domaines du Roussillon où goûter aux vins locaux.
  • Se détendre avec la thalassothérapie ou balnéothérapie.
  • Se faire plaisir au Casino.
  • Découvrir la gastronomie catalane grâce au très grand choix de cafés et restaurants disponible à proximité du camping

Se déplacer malin

Pendant la saison, le petit train parcourt le village, dessert le front de mer, la colline des

loisirs et les principales plages de la station