The best beaches of the Pyrénées Orientales - Ma Prairie

The best beaches in the north of the Pyrénées Orientales

When booking your holiday at our Pyrénées-Orientales campsite, take advantage of the wonderful beaches in the surroundings of Canet Plage . The Roussillon coastline has a wide variety of beaches ranging from the sandy coast with its large expanses of fine sand, to the rocky coast with its small coves and unspoilt wilderness.

The beaches of the sandy coast

Canet Plage and Saint-Cyprien

Canet-en-Roussillon and St-Cyprien have the largest sandy beaches in the Pyrénées Orientales. The region is particularly well known for its windsurfing, kitesurfing, windsurfing and Stand Up Paddle spots. These 2 seaside resorts have as a priority to ensure the highest quality welcome to tourists and have obtained reference labels such as " Blue Flag ", " Qualité Sud France ", " Qualité Tourisme " or even " Handiplage ", a guarantee of quality.

Camping Ma Prairie is located 3 km from the sandy beaches of Canet Plage. This is still close enough to get there on foot. It takes about half an hour to walk there. If you don't want to take your car to get there, there's also a cycle path linking the campsite to the beach. You have the possibility to rent bicycles at our campsite near Canet Plage. You can also take the bus. The stop near the campsite can take you there! The advantage is that you can happily enjoy all the advantages of the resort without the inconvenience of the crowds and the festive spirit of a dynamic seaside resort!

The beaches of the Vermeille coast

Jewel of the Catalan coast, the Vermilion Coast celebrates the meeting between the Mediterranean and the Pyrenees on its way down to Spain. It unveils its wild landscapes and creeks as soon as you arrive in Collioure and as far as Cerbère, often only accessible on foot, by numerous paths.

Collioure

L'Anse de la Balette, Saint-Vincent beach or Boramar beach are all small coves of pebbles or gravel, located in the centre of Collioure. They surround the maritime chapel "Notre Dames des Anges" whose bell tower has inspired many painters among the most famous Derain or Braques. The water is clear and it is pleasant to refresh yourself after walking through the steep streets of the village. Swimming is supervised in summer.

Also read: our tourist guide of Collioure.

The wild creeks of Port-Vendres, Banyuls-sur-Mer and Cerbère

Here, it is the Mediterranean that will reveal its most beautiful secrets: Port-Vendres, Banyuls, Cap Béar offer seabeds of extraordinary biodiversity, sheltering protected species that find refuge in its waters to reproduce. The protected site (labelled Natura 2000) of the Bay of Paulilles, developed around the "old Powder Magazine" (now the Museum of Industrial Heritage and repair workshop for Catalan boats), offers you privileged access to this beautiful treasure. Masks, flippers and snorkel for a wonderful dive!

Les meilleures plages des Pyrénées Orientales - Camping Ma Prairie

Les meilleures plages du nord des Pyrénées Orientales

Le littoral Roussillonnais offre une grande diversité de plages allant de la cote sablonneuse avec ses grandes étendues de sable fin, à la cote rocheuse et ses petites criques et paysages sauvages préservés.

Les plages de la côte Sablonneuse

Canet Plage et Saint-Cyprien

Canet-en-Roussillon et St-Cyprien possèdent les plus grandes plages de sable des Pyrénées Orientales. La région est particulièrement connue pour ses spots de planche à voile, kitesurf, windsurf ou encore Stand Up Paddle. Ces 2 stations balnéaires ont pour priorité d’assurer un accueil aux touristes des plus qualitatifs et ont obtenu des labels de référence tels que « Pavillon Bleu », « Qualité Sud France », « Qualité Tourisme » ou encore « Handiplage » gage de qualité.

Le camping Ma Prairie se trouve à 3 km des plages de sable fin de Canet Plage. Cela reste suffisamment proche pour s’y rendre à pied. Comptez environ une demi-heure de marche. Si vous ne souhaitez pas prendre votre voiture pour vous y rendre, une piste cyclable relie également le camping à la plage, ou encore le bus dont l’arrêt se trouve à proximité du camping peut vous y mener ! L’avantage est que vous pouvez profitez allègrement de tous les atouts de la station sans en subir les désagréments liés à l’affluence et à l’esprit festif d’une station balnéaire dynamique !

Les plages de la côte Vermeille

Joyau de la côte catalane, la côte vermeille célèbre la rencontre entre Méditerranée et Pyrénées en descendant vers l’Espagne. Elle dévoile ses paysages sauvages et ses criques dès votre arrivée sur Collioure et jusqu’à Cerbère, accessibles bien souvent uniquement à pied, par de nombreux sentiers.

Collioure

L’Anse de la Balette, la plage Saint-Vincent ou encore la plage Boramar sont autant de petites anses de galets ou gravillons, situées au centre de Collioure et qui entourent la chapelle maritime « Notre Dames des Anges » dont le clocher a inspiré bon nombre d’artistes peintres parmi les plus célèbres Derain ou Braques. L’eau y est claire et il est agréable de s’y rafraichir après avoir arpenté les ruelles escarpées du village. La baignade est surveillée en été.

À lire également : notre guide touristique de Collioure.

Les criques sauvages de Port-Vendres, Banyuls-sur-Mer et Cerbère

A cet endroit, c’est la Méditerranée qui va dévoiler ses plus beaux secrets : Port-Vendres, Banyuls, Cap Béar offrent des fonds marins d’une biodiversité extraordinaire, abritant des espèces protégées qui trouvent refuge dans ses eaux pour s’y reproduire. Le site protégé (labelisé Natura 2000) de la baie de Paulilles, aménagé autour de l’ « ancienne Poudrière » (devenu musée du patrimoine industriel et atelier de réparation des barques catalanes), vous offre un accès privilégié à ce joli trésor. À vos masques, palmes et tuba pour une plongée merveilleuse!